Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery

The book Anne of Green Gables written by L.M Montgomery gained my interest when Ganuscha presented it today. I have read this book before, but never saw the movie as I didn’t know there was one. Even though the book is big, I always loved reading and so I enjoyed reading it.

I learned from the quotes Ganuscha said “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” which means the importance of dreams and to follow them. “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world” which means the importance of education, how it will give you lots of knowledge and values. “Being deeply in love by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage” which means the importance of love and that everyone needs someone to love.

I think that children over the age of 12 years and older would enjoy reading this because they can relate to the characters and the situations they face. For example, on the first day of school when everyone is shy, a kid named Gilbert called Anne carrot because she had red/orange hair. This is a sign of bullying, where a lot of children go through while they are in school. My sister, who is now 15 years old, read this when she was in grade 6. She has difficulties reading, but with a little help from her teacher and me, she managed to understand it and ended up liking the book.

Have you ever read Anne of Green Gables before it was presented to us? If so, did you like it? Why? If not, now that you have heard about it briefly, would you read it?

9 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery

  1. Seems like a book younger children would definetly enjoy! However, i have not read the book myself and yes maybe i would read it when i have the time and also recommend it to my siblings.

  2. I never read the book, but after hearing the presentation today, and reading your blog its clear to me that the book extends a great message to those reading it. It will definitely serve as a prelude to the challenges ahead for children and teach them important messages and understandings of life. Great post!

    • Thank you! Yes, I do agree with you. It has great messages that kids should learn about while reading this book and that is why I definitely recommend this book to be put in the library.

  3. This was one of my favourite books when I was young, and I was so inspired by Ganuscha’s presentation that I returned to another of L. M. Montgomery’s books, Emily of New Moon, and am really enjoying re-reading it!

Leave a Reply

