Island of the blue dolphins by Scott O’Dell

The book Island of the blue dolphins by Scott O’Dell gained my interest when Shantoi presented it. I have not read this book before. I would definitely like to read this as I love dolphins and love adventure books. What I found interesting and that gained my interest was the island is a dolphins face making the mouth facing sunrise and the tail facing sunset. It’s something that you don’t see in real world so it makes the book entertaining.

I learnt that the valuable lesson in this book is to be attentive to what you are taught as a child and to apply what you have learnt. This is a very important lesson that children need to grasp out of the book and apply it.

I think children over the age of 12 would enjoy this book as the island that Karana lives in is a sea mammal, which I know when I was a kid; I liked dolphins.

I think the boy of 12 years old that I babysat over the summer would enjoy reading this book because he like reading and loves sea mammals. Every time I would go babysit him, he would always talk about wishing he could live in an aquarium full of sea mammals, like dolphins, whales and fish.

Have you ever read Island of the blue dolphins before it was presented to us? If so, did you like it? Why? If not, now that you have heard about it briefly, would you read it?

2 thoughts on “Island of the blue dolphins by Scott O’Dell

  1. I have not read this book or heard about it until your presentation, but i have to say that this book seems to be a beautiful story and i am curious about the book since i heard and read a quick summary about the book. I would definetly recommend it to the young children i know !

Leave a Reply

