“Are You There God? It’s Me Margret” by Judy Blume

I had already read my children’s novel when I was in elementary school I don’t want to tell you what the book is about yet as I will be doing my presentation on it. I always loved reading Judy Blume books and when I stumbled upon this book, I immediately fell in love with it. I immediately fell in love with it because as I was reading, I could relate to what was happening to the main character. The main characters name is Margret Simon. The reason why the book is called “Are You There God? It’s Me Margret” is because Margret does not have a religion, but she still talks to God and nobody, not even her parents, know that.

My favorite character is Margret because I can relate to her as I can feel what she is going through. She has moved from New York City to the suburbs, so she was the new kid. Everyone can relate to her as everyone at some point, including me was the new kid. She does try to fit in by creating a club, but like I said, I don’t want to tell you the story just yet.

Margret is totally like me; she is sweet, kind, funny, real, and keeps a lot of secrets. I don’t aspire to be like this character as I already am like her, but every time I read this book, I always get the same feeling of pity for Margret.
It has now been my third or fourth time that I read this book and don’t get tired of it because it’s a good book. It was my favorite book when I was in elementary school until I was introduced to Twilight. I would definitely let my child read this book and I would recommend this book to everybody.

Aside from Disney children books, what was your favorite child book to read? Why?

2 thoughts on ““Are You There God? It’s Me Margret” by Judy Blume

  1. I would love to know a bit more about Margaret’s character, especially when you say that you “pity” her. Why do you feel sorry for her?
    Remember that your goal in this course will be to convince your classmates that your book is a good one for kids to read, so don’t worry about revealing too much! Many people will have read your book already, and others may be inspired to read it even if they know some things about the plot.

    • When I read this book, I feel sorry for her because she moves out so she is the new kid, confusion with what religion she is and that her family doesn’t help her. She has to learn about puberty by her friends and not her own parents. What I’m getting to is I feel pity for her because she doesn’t have any guidance or help, she has to learn and deal with it by herself, and that is why she talks to God as she feels he is the only one to help her.

Leave a Reply

