Qualities

Paul Tough’s book of How Children Succeed Chapter 2 talks about seven different qualities; grit, self-control, zest, social intelligence, gratitude, optimism and curiosity.

Looking at all these qualities, I thought to myself do I lack any of these? But, to my surprise, I can be represented through these qualities.

The quality of grit can be represented when a person has a commitment and makes his/her effort of making the commitment work. My commitment ever since I was seven years old was becoming a teacher. I am now on my way of becoming one and trying my best to make that possible.

The quality of self-control is represented when a person has put limitations on themselves. Example, when my friends go out on a Sunday night I limit myself on going as I have school the next day and I have studying to be done.

The quality of zest is represented when a person does the things at that moment and not postpones them. You see this with students, as most of them leave their studying for the last minute. I am not this type of person. When a task is given, I do it and get it over with.

The quality of social intelligence is represented when a person has an understanding of what is going on in the world. I have this quality as I watch the news every morning before going to school.

The quality of gratitude is represented when a person is thankful or grateful for something or someone. I am always grateful for what I have and don’t ask for anything I don’t have and don’t need. Needs vs Wants.

The quality of optimistic is represented when a person is viewing every day as a happy day. I see every day as a happy day so it goes fast and not long and depressing.

The quality of curiosity is represented when a person loves to learn new things or go exploring. I am always curious to figure out something or try something new.

If you don’t have any of those qualities, is there one that you would like to have? Why?

Bibliography:

Tough,Paul How Childreen Succeed, 2012

Leave a Reply

